Lichtenburg - Central District - North West - South Africa
Lichtenburg was established on the farms Middelbosch and Doornfontein in the year 1873. It was named Lichtenburg to indicate it was a shining light of religion by Thomas Francois Burger. It became a municipality in 1904.
Back in 1926, a diamond was found on a farm in the area and this resulted in an influx of hopeful diggers. The following year 25000 runners took part in pegging out their claims in the Diamond Rush. In total more than 100000 rushed here in the hopes of a fortune.
The farmer who's worker had found the diamond on his farm Elandsputte had 32000 digging on his farm and was taking 15% of any diamond found.He also sold water to the diggers at 6d per 50litre barrel and made over £48000 in the first three months. The diamonds were apparently alluvial diamonds which had been in the bed of an old river course which had dried up. In the course of time the diggings spread further a field. During the time the diggings were productive more than 7 million carats of diamonds were found.
The biggest pure red Diamond in the world was found here. 9 years later the rush was over and the town returned to its former occupation of supplying the agricultural area of maize, groundnuts and sunflowers with their needed supplies.
There is an Agricultural museum(North West Agricultural Museum) here which exhibits a wonderful collection of old tools and implements.
The Lichtenburg Game Breeding Centre is situated here.
There are also three cement factories in the surrounding area.
Sorry there are no photos for this area as yet. Please come back later.